BATTLEZONE COMMUNITY FORUMS

Battlezone I & II Download, Gaming & Development
It is currently September 20th, 2017, 11:04 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: August 15th, 2005, 1:37 pm 
User avatar
Offline

Joined: December 3rd, 2004, 1:25 pm
Posts: 1989
Location: Iceland
Wanted to paste this here before that page disappeared.
(http://www.valler.com/bz2/files/BZ2%20C ... ptions.txt)

Code:
<<-------------------------------->>
<< Battlezone II:Combat Commander >>
<< All known command line options >>
<<-------------------------------->>


Last Edited:  2002-03-25
Created By :  Scott "Centerline" Valler
E-mail     :  scott@valler.com
-----------------------------------------------------
Command line options allow you to change the way that
Battlezone II:Combat Commander works or to activate
special features, etc.  This list is valid for copies
of BZ2 that are patched to "1.2beta" from
http://www.pandemicstudios.com which provides tons
of extra stuff and seriously improved on-line play.

Check out http://www.planetbattlezone.com for links to
active discussion forums, mods, maps, editing tips, etc.

Most command line switches listed here came from:
     "c:\program files\battlezone 2\render.cfg"
     "c:\program files\battlezone 2\nettips.txt"
-----------------------------------------------------



To use these command line options do one of two things:

1.  Use the "RUN" command:
    a.  Click on "Start" button
    b.  Click on "Run"
    c.  In the "Open" box type in "C:\Program Files\Battlezone II\bzone.exe" xxxx xxxx xxxx
        Where "xxxx" are the command line options you want to use.  You can usually use several at one time.
        It is IMPORTANT to enclose the program name in quotes exactly as shown above.  Change the path
        to reflect where your bzone.exe file is on your hard drive.

2.  Use a short-cut:
    a.  Create a short-cut to your bzone.exe file
    b.  Right click on the short-cut and choose "Properties"
    c.  In the "Target" box you should see something like: "C:\Program Files\Battlezone II\bzone.exe"
    d.  In the "Target" box after the last quote put in a space and the command line options you want
    e.  I have two different short-cuts on my desktop - each short-cut has a different set of command
        line options so I can launch BZ2 differently.

Here are a few examples no matter which method above that you use:
        "C:\Program Files\Battlezone II\bzone.exe" /nointro /poweruser /noscript /edit chill.bzn
        "C:\Program Files\Battlezone II\bzone.exe" /win /edit /nointro /poweruser mymap.bzn
        "C:\Program Files\Battlezone II\bzone.exe" /shellmap 128 mymap.bzn
        "C:\Program Files\Battlezone II\bzone.exe" /poweruser /edit /win +name "Red Eye" /nointro
        "C:\Program Files\Battlezone II\bzone.exe" /nointro /poweruser /nods /win +host 32438 /trackfps
        "C:\Program Files\Battlezone II\bzone.exe" /nointro /poweruser /benchmark

============================================
Here is the list of what I found for BZ2 1.2
============================================
/aipLogging           enable trace of *.AIP file processing (into schedLog[N].txt)
/altprediction [n]    0 is default - have been told it defines the branch to use in the AIP's while testing
/benchmark            run recorded session using a fixed clock (one tick per frame)
+connect [i.p.add.ress:PortNum]     
                      Starts up BZ2 as a client to the game specified by IP address
                      and port number; the port number should be the second BZ2 port
                      number, usually 17771. For example, "+connect
                      192.168.1.4:17771" tries to join the game at 192.168.1.4.
/depth [bbp]          sets initial color depth
/edit [filename]      allows you to launch the editor using CTRL-E
                      when used with a map name it will open the map for editing
+host [PortNum]       Starts up BZ2 as a host (i.e. server) of a game, and places you
                      in the Multiplayer Game Options shell screen. Valid port
                      numbers to host on are 1024 through 65534; if the portnum
                      specified is outside that range, the default of 17770 is used.
                      BZ2 always uses 2 ports that are adjacently numbered; the
                      number specified is the first.
/initialcamera [n]    sets the initial camera view - (0-2 can be over-ridden in game)
                         0 = cockpit view
                         1 = over the sholder view
                         2 = third person view
                         3 - 10 = debugging views that are useless for play
/lanonly              Sets the initial setting of the Gamespy/LAN Only button to be "LAN Only"
                      You may still change this setting in-game
/login [PilotName]    use PilotName's preferences (e.g. to run benchmark)
/multiworldfrequency [n]     overrides the default MultiWorldFrequency [1 - 10 valid input]
+name "Player Name"   Sets the initial Multiplayer player name to the value specified
/neardistance [n]     Sets the distance from you that objects are drawn - can be over riden in game.  If an
                      object is beyond the near distance it will not be drawn no matter what your visibility
                      range or fog settings.
/net                  Untested option.
/nobodyhome           launch with dummy empty.dll (instant, multiplayer etc) removes paths, etc. - mainly used with "/edit"
/nochunks             disable chunks (e.g. during playback)
/nods                 disable sound
/nods3d               disable 3d-sound
/nointerface          disable HUD (e.g. during playback)
/nointro              disable intro movie
/nolights             disable lights (e.g. during playback)
/noparticles          disable particles (e.g. during playback)
/noscript             when used in conjunction with /edit tag the embedded DLL doesn not kick off. This means
                      that the starting units will not be created and you'll be in great shape for editing.
/noxmm                disable xmm [extended memory manager] - debug only tool
+password "TopSecretPassword"
                      For either a client or a server (see above), this commandline
                      parameter sets the password used when creating or joining that game.
/playback [fileName]  play back a session
/poweruser            (This is the one MUST USE command line option in my opinion :)
                      This option (not tweakable in the game; it must be added to the
                      shortcut) was in previous versions, but really is most useful in
                      version 1.2. This was my [Nathan's] commandline switch to make the game work the
                      way I want it to-- especially the first two options which put more
                      text onscreen. For a short list of what it does:
   
                      * Chat messages timeout is 99 seconds, not 5. Still editable with
                        console command as above.

                      * In-game score screen is on by default. Use Control-Enter to turn it
                        on/off, as usual.

                      * Server list shows much more information, such as:

                      * All games reported back by Gamespy; a "(V)" is in the
                        password column if the Gamespy version differs from your local
                        one. Also, the 'Game Stats' box up top shows the actual GS
                        version for a session.

                      * Player list shows name, and 4 numbers; they are (in order)
                        Deaths, Kills, Team number, Ping (host always has ping of -1)

                      * Player disconnect/leave reasons are printed to the messages boxes,
                        such as the Winsock reason, or movelag. (Movelag is when moves
                        are not received 23-28 seconds after they're due). Note: this
                        is most useful for a server to do; clients are not told
                        disconnect/leave reasons unless it's their own. Note: messages
                        like this are also sent to the console, so if you're at the
                        game over screen, you can hit control-~ to turn on the console
                        and see the reasons printed, then control-~ to turn it off
                        again.

                      * With /poweruser on, you can host a game with 14 players, not 8. This
                        is most useful for some sort of lobby-style game which isn't
                        launched. 14 players in an actual game would probably flood out
                        modem users, but you can try it over a LAN.

                      * No warnings printed on changing the playerlimit or unit limit above normal.
/record [fileName]    record a session
/resolution [w h]    (force resolution) /resolution 1024 768 ; Max BZ2 resolution; /resolution 1280 1024
/scriptstring         Untested option.
/shellmap 128 [filename]    Creates a 128x128 pixel terrain bitmap in the /bz2/addon folder
                      of the maps terrain within the playable area
/teropt            dump TerrainOpt to *.OPT file, terrain optimization (move to your map folder)
/trackfps             display frame rate, polygon count, polygon rate (kps)
/videodriver [n]      1 to force secondary video card (overrides menu selection)
/win                  run in a window (use ALT-ENTER to switch back to full screen mode)


Last edited by appel on March 3rd, 2006, 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 15th, 2005, 2:07 pm 
User avatar
Offline

Joined: December 5th, 2004, 7:31 am
Posts: 749
I have /nogui in my shortcut for years now, no idea what it does......

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 15th, 2005, 2:46 pm 
User avatar
Offline

Joined: December 3rd, 2004, 1:25 pm
Posts: 1989
Location: Iceland
Simple, google for "battlezone nogui"

BINGO! http://www.timedisruptor.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1046


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 16th, 2005, 4:10 am 
User avatar
Offline

Joined: January 8th, 2005, 4:38 am
Posts: 1065
Location: 010
sticky sticky sticky :-D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: April 2nd, 2006, 2:29 am 
User avatar
Offline

Joined: July 8th, 2005, 7:34 am
Posts: 2357
Location: Slovenia
Hehe,lol those are oficiall known commands :-P

_________________
rememer? bz2 nick Ego {EGO}IsT That nick name just putting questions :)
https://twitter.com/battlezone2game


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: April 2nd, 2006, 1:24 pm 
User avatar
Offline

Joined: December 14th, 2004, 9:05 pm
Posts: 843
There have been a few added to 1.3 actually.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 9th, 2007, 8:02 am 
User avatar
Offline

Joined: July 8th, 2005, 7:34 am
Posts: 2357
Location: Slovenia
Updated:
/resolution [w h] (force resolution) /resolution 1024 768 ; Max BZ2 resolution; /resolution 1280 1024

Here are settings what I use:

"E:\Igre\Battlezone II\bzone.exe" /nointro /trackfps /poweruser /resolution 1024 768 /depth 16 /nogui /multiworldfrequency 1

_________________
rememer? bz2 nick Ego {EGO}IsT That nick name just putting questions :)
https://twitter.com/battlezone2game


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 29th, 2007, 5:01 am 
User avatar
Offline

Joined: December 14th, 2005, 2:32 am
Posts: 1548
there no such thing as a max resolution

i run bz2 ingame in 1680x1050

put in "+fullscreen1"

and you wil get the maximum amount of pixels your screen can hold.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 29th, 2007, 4:16 pm 
User avatar
Offline

Joined: July 8th, 2005, 7:34 am
Posts: 2357
Location: Slovenia
Thanks 4 update! :)

_________________
rememer? bz2 nick Ego {EGO}IsT That nick name just putting questions :)
https://twitter.com/battlezone2game


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: January 2nd, 2008, 2:49 am 
User avatar
Offline

Joined: December 14th, 2005, 2:32 am
Posts: 1548
i put in /trackfps and im fairly sure nothing happened


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 31st, 2009, 8:58 am 
User avatar
Offline

Joined: December 14th, 2005, 2:32 am
Posts: 1548
*GEL*Holocaust wrote:
there no such thing as a max resolution

i run bz2 ingame in 1680x1050

put in "+fullscreen1"

and you wil get the maximum amount of pixels your screen can hold.


after all the years ive used this, i just found out it doesnt actually work and its just been in 1280x1024... sorryyyy

pls tell me how to have 1680x1050 in 1.2!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: April 1st, 2009, 4:38 pm 
User avatar
Admin
Offline

Joined: March 15th, 2006, 7:35 am
Posts: 2147
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
I've always liked /poweruser since it displays FPS automatically, and chat messages and stuff stick around for longer.

_________________
Regulators.
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool. We're damn good too.
But you can't be any geek off the street.
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean.
Earn your keep.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


PLEASE SUPPORT US BY MAKING A DONATION TO BZ2MAPS.US!

ALL DONATIONS WILL GO DIRECTLY TOWARD HOSTING AND SUPPORT COSTS OF BZ2MAPS.US ~ THANK YOU!

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Copyright © 2011 BZ2MAPS.US