BATTLEZONE COMMUNITY FORUMS

Battlezone I & II Download, Gaming & Development
It is currently November 21st, 2017, 11:40 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: October 25th, 2016, 1:26 am 
User avatar
Moderator
Offline

Joined: May 26th, 2009, 1:51 pm
Posts: 814
I modified a service truck to heal my aircraft; it has a greater service range. Is there a way to minimize the pushing away it does when servicing air units; especially those on the ground itself. Thx, Edgrr. :ymparty:

_________________
BZII Modeling tutorials for model making igits like you?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: October 25th, 2016, 8:59 am 
User avatar
Moderator
Offline

Joined: March 13th, 2005, 3:54 pm
Posts: 572
Location: dallas tx
Yes

General BlackDragon wrote:
Here is a link to my full text file of useful modding info, as well as 1.3 additions/important changes. This should be up to date with 1.3.7.1. Also, Kudos if you read that text file I linked completely, you'll find a lot of neat stuff in there.

_________________
Image
*****General BlackDragon*****


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: October 27th, 2016, 7:54 am 
User avatar
Moderator
Offline

Joined: May 26th, 2009, 1:51 pm
Posts: 814
General BlackDragon wrote:
Yes

General BlackDragon wrote:
Here is a link to my full text file of useful modding info, as well as 1.3 additions/important changes. This should be up to date with 1.3.7.1. Also, Kudos if you read that text file I linked completely, you'll find a lot of neat stuff in there.


Thx for the information GBD. The service range on my service truck is adequate to service my aircraft circling around its area; takes a bit longer to service them due to them flying overhead, but I can live with that.

The gun turret taps are working out nicely and the only problem that I may have to live with is not having a terrain__h piece on my buildings; functionally the buildings work fine otherwise as far as collisions and logging on to my terminals. I'm guessing the issue is related to the directx exporter used by my 3d modeling software prior to converting x models to xsi with 3d Exploration. :-??

_________________
BZII Modeling tutorials for model making igits like you?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: October 28th, 2016, 8:32 am 
User avatar
Moderator
Offline

Joined: March 13th, 2005, 3:54 pm
Posts: 572
Location: dallas tx
Or u could give me one of the problematic XSI file s with a terrain__h and i could tell you what is wrong.

_________________
Image
*****General BlackDragon*****


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: October 29th, 2016, 1:49 am 
User avatar
Moderator
Offline

Joined: May 26th, 2009, 1:51 pm
Posts: 814
General BlackDragon wrote:
Or u could give me one of the problematic XSI file s with a terrain__h and i could tell you what is wrong.


Thx, but I don't see the point if it's related with the x exporter itself? As I'm mentioned in the past Truespace is a bit odd in terms of handling BZII required parts naming requirements. I'm basically stuck with TS as a modeling tool and 3d Exploration as a conversion tool. Seriously, a terrain_h is not required to make building work ingame. :-bd

_________________
BZII Modeling tutorials for model making igits like you?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: October 29th, 2016, 6:16 pm 
User avatar
Moderator
Offline

Joined: March 13th, 2005, 3:54 pm
Posts: 572
Location: dallas tx
Of course it isn't, because the correct name has two _ in the end. "terrain_h" is not correct, "terrain__h" is correct.

If you gave me a broken XSI, I could explain how to fix it with notepad, as it's probably something simple like that.

_________________
Image
*****General BlackDragon*****


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: October 30th, 2016, 1:25 am 
User avatar
Moderator
Offline

Joined: May 26th, 2009, 1:51 pm
Posts: 814
General BlackDragon wrote:
Of course it isn't, because the correct name has two _ in the end. "terrain_h" is not correct, "terrain__h" is correct.

If you gave me a broken XSI, I could explain how to fix it with notepad, as it's probably something simple like that.


My mistake in the post the part name in the model was __h. The problem with the x exporter is that I have to use __h with 2 blank spaces at the end to get BZII read parts to work when exporting the model. For HP's this works fine for the terrain__h part not so well apparently. Trust me when I say I tried to get it to work until I was blue in face. Adding the terrain part was screwing up the collisions and terminal itself. Thx, anyways GBD. Edgrr (-|

_________________
BZII Modeling tutorials for model making igits like you?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: October 30th, 2016, 11:06 am 
User avatar
Moderator
Offline

Joined: March 13th, 2005, 3:54 pm
Posts: 572
Location: dallas tx
As I said, if you gave me an XSI with the exported terrain__h that you couldn't get to work, I could tell you what is wrong with it.

_________________
Image
*****General BlackDragon*****


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 1st, 2016, 1:09 am 
User avatar
Moderator
Offline

Joined: May 26th, 2009, 1:51 pm
Posts: 814
General BlackDragon wrote:
As I said, if you gave me an XSI with the exported terrain__h that you couldn't get to work, I could tell you what is wrong with it.


The problem is how it's named bro. The part is a simple 64x64 plane object.

_________________
BZII Modeling tutorials for model making igits like you?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 1st, 2016, 8:45 am 
User avatar
Moderator
Offline

Joined: March 13th, 2005, 3:54 pm
Posts: 572
Location: dallas tx
Then open the .xsi in notepad and rename it. "terrain__h". You have to rename both names at the top of the piece.

_________________
Image
*****General BlackDragon*****


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 4th, 2016, 4:15 am 
User avatar
Moderator
Offline

Joined: May 26th, 2009, 1:51 pm
Posts: 814
General BlackDragon wrote:
Then open the .xsi in notepad and rename it. "terrain__h". You have to rename both names at the top of the piece.


Thx, I'll give it a try then. Edgrr. If it worx problem solved. :-bd

_________________
BZII Modeling tutorials for model making igits like you?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 4th, 2016, 4:42 am 
User avatar
Moderator
Offline

Joined: May 26th, 2009, 1:51 pm
Posts: 814
Bummer, didn't seem to work either also added a collision__hc and edited the names, but it still made the building pass trough and still couldn't login to the terminal itself. I give up and thx for the suggestions GBD, but it works well enough without terrain_h and collision__hc. :ymparty:

_________________
BZII Modeling tutorials for model making igits like you?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


PLEASE SUPPORT US BY MAKING A DONATION TO BZ2MAPS.US!

ALL DONATIONS WILL GO DIRECTLY TOWARD HOSTING AND SUPPORT COSTS OF BZ2MAPS.US ~ THANK YOU!

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Copyright © 2011 BZ2MAPS.US